City of DeLand honoring Hometown Heroes

City of DeLand information regarding Hurricane Dorian

July 9, 2019

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                                           

DATE: 07/02/2019

Media contact: Chris Graham

Community Information Specialist

Office: 386-626-7117

Cell: 386-872-0821


City of DeLand honoring Hometown Heroes


(DeLand, FL) – As communities celebrate the birth of our nation, the City of DeLand is honoring the men and women who have and continue to fight to preserve our freedom.


This year, 36 men and women are being recognized as DeLand Hometown Heroes. The program, sponsored by AdventHealth, honors retired and active military personnel by placing banners on street poles in Downtown DeLand. Later this year, veterans and family members will be invited to a City Commission meeting where they will receive replicas of the banners to hang athome.


“We owe everything to the men and women and their families who have sacrificed so much so that we can enjoy our many freedoms,” said Mayor Robert F. Apgar. “It is fitting that we get to pay homage to these heroes along the Best MainStreet in America.”


DeLand’s Hometown Heroes Military Banner Program was founded in 2018 and has been funded by AdventHealth through 2020. For those wanting to apply for next year’s program, they may visit www.deland.org/resources/hometown-heroes-military-banner-program


The heroes honored during this year’s program are:

  • Abbey Stine, U.S. Army
  • Andre Forand, U.S. Army
  • Cary Landis, U.S. Navy
  • Frank Gould, U.S. Navy
  • Chase Berner, U.S. Navy
  • Chelsey Ray, U.S. Air     Force
  • Christopher Ray, U.S.     Air Force
  • CJ Stine, U.S. Army
  • Cory Eiland, U.S. Army
  • Daryl Ward II, U.S.     Marine Corps.
  • Daniel Rippeon, U.S.     Army
  • David Post, U.S. Marine     Corps.
  • Dillon Audit, U.S. Air     Force
  • Edward Rios, U.S. Army
  • Elmer Pegram, U.S. Army,     Air Force
  • Frank Gould, U.S. Navy
  • Frank Sclafani, U.S. Air     Force
  • Frank Wood, U.S. Navy
  • Jai Hunter, U.S. Army
  • James Heisterman, U.S.     Marine Corps.
  • John O’Connor, U.S. Navy
  • Justin Smith, U.S. Air     Force
  • Lawrence Gonzalez, U.S.     Army
  • Leotis McCray, U.S. Navy
  • Melvin Rollins, U.S.     Marine Corps.
  • Patrick Buckner, U.S.     Army
  • Raymond Griffin, U.S.     Navy
  • Robert Barbieri, U.S.     Army, U.S. Marine Corps., U.S. Navy
  • Robert Neal III, U.S.     Army
  • Robert Wiltuck, U.S. Air     Force
  • Ronald Wilson, U.S. Navy
  • Royce Hood III, U.S.     Navy
  • Steve Riley, U.S. Army
  • Thomas Sylvia, U.S. Army
  • Valjean Schooley, U.S.     Air Force
  • William Bradley, U.S.     Army





Stay Connected

Click on the button below to contact our team. We are proud to provide top notch service to our citizens.

Subscribe Here