Boards and Committees

Spring Hill Community Redevelopment Agency

Mike Grebosz
120 South Florida Avenue, DeLand, FL 32720

PURPOSE: CRA stands for Community Redevelopment Agency.  It is a public entity created by a city or county to implement community redevelopment activities.  DeLand’s Spring Hill CRA Board consists of the three members of the DeLand City Commission, two members of the Volusia County Council and two citizen appointments (one from incorporated limits and one from unincorporated limits) who must be a resident of, the Spring Hill area.  The CRA is charged with undertaking redevelopment functions in the district.  It is a decision making body. City staff works with the CRA Board to carry out the CRA plan and manages the tax increment fund.  The Board meets on an as needed basis, generally before DeLand City Commission meetings. The purpose of the CRA is to work jointly with the County Council in the completion of a redevelopment plan for the Spring Hill area in an effort to eliminate the blighted area of the Spring Hill community for the benefit of the residents therein and to offer the residents an improved quality of life. [F.S. 163.410; Reso 04-55]

Services Provided:

  • The establishment and operation of the Community Resource Center
  • Employment Services
  • Preparation for new projects including development of mixed use projects on undeveloped parcels
  • Affordable housing programs
  • Home ownership assistance program
  • Installation of sanitary sewer lines
  • Other public infrastructure improvements (sidewalks improvements, additional street lights, road improvements)
  • Sanitary sewer connection program/septic abandonment
  • Property improvement program

This link to the Department of Financial Services: https://apps.fldfs.com/LocalGov/Reports/

This link to the general applicable ethical provisions: http://www.ethics.state.fl.us/Research/EthicsLaws.aspx

Date Established:

  • September 9th 2004

Establishing Entity:          

  • County of Volusia
  • City of DeLand

REQUIREMENTS: The governing body of the Spring Hill CRA consists of seven (7) representatives, of which two (2) are members of the Volusia County Council, three (3) are members of the DeLand City Commission, one (1) is a citizen of the unincorporated area of Spring Hill appointed by the County Council, and one (1) is a citizen of the incorporated area of Spring Hill appointed by the City Commission. Terms are for four (4) years.


Seat 1 - Mayor Robert F. Apgar; Term expires: 11/2022

Seat 2 - Jessica Davis; Term expires: 11/2022

Seat 3 - Charles Paiva; Term expires: 11/2024

Seat 4 - Anthony Hill; Term expires: 03/31/2023

Seat 5 - Helen Woulard; Term expires: 03/31/2023

Seat 6 - Ben Johnson; Term expires: 12/2022

Seat 7 - Barb Girtman; Term expires: 12/2022

Form 1 Link:

click here

Click here to download the board application